Soul What? – The Silver Lining CD (2013)


12,00 incl. vat

Soul What?
The Silver Lining (2013) ELive CD001

The Silver Lining is Soul What? debute album. All tracks on this album are original pieces by Soul What?. The album was recorded in 2011-2013. Most of the songs on this record started from bass riffs and bass lines that Eevalotta Matikainen composed. The music and lyrics was then composed in collaboration with Eevalotta, Martin and Riikka. On the record you can hear inventive drum grooves by Toni Porthén, bass lines by Eevalotta Matikainen, Martin Söderbacka capturing sounds from a stratocaster and soulful hammond, rhodes and piano playing by Mikael Svarvar. Lead vocals are sung by soft and dreamy singer Riikka Elisabet Hertteli and soulful and powerful singer Mikael Svarvar. There are two lead duets featured on ”The Silver Lining”, tracks 6 and 11.
There are two additional featuring musicians on the record bringing some more energy and broader soundscapes, Mika Mylläri on trumpet and Estonian saxophone player Siim Aimla.

1. Difficult Times 4:18
2. City LIghts 5:09
3. Keep On 3:18
4. People 4:43
5. I Forgive You 5:36
6. Guardian Angel 6:01
7. The Silver Lining 6:12 (instrumental)
8. Keep Us Safe 4:35
9. Beautiful Day 4:16
10. You’ve Got Soul 4:47
11. I’ll Stay 6:17

Soul What?
Eevalotta Matikainen – bass
Toni Porthén – drums and percussions
Martin Söderbacka – guitar, backing vocals
Mikael Svarvar – rhodes, wurlitzer, hammond organs, lead vocal and backing vocal
Riikka Elisabet Hertteli – lead vocal
Siim Aimla – saxophone (on tracks 4,5,8,10)
Mika Mylläri – trumpet (on track 7,10)
Mixed by Miikka Huttunen, Neomusic at Sonic Pump Studios
Mastered by Svante Forsbäck at Chartmakers
Album artwork: Triin Aimla-Laid
Producer: Eevalotta Matikainen, ELive Music
All songs and lyrics written by Eevalotta Matikainen, Martin Söderbacka and Riikka Elisabet Hertteli (except track 1 and 11 written by Riikka Elisabet Hertteli, track 7 written by Eevalotta Matikainen & Martin Söderbacka)
All songs arranged by Soul What?