Soul What? feat. Joonatan Rautio – What Lies Ahead CD (2016)


15,00 incl. vat

Soul What? Feat. Joonatan Rautio
What Lies Ahead (2016) ELiveCD 002

The second album of this super-energetic and virtuosic Finnish soul/jazz quintet. This studio album is more intense and jazz than the groups debut album. ”What Lies Ahead” is an interesting mix of soul/jazz music with intensive energy, shrilling improvisations and soulful vocals. The album contains five instrumental tracks and three vocal vocal tracks.

”What Lies Ahead” was recorded between April and May 2016. Drums, saxophone, grand piano and most of all vocal- and wurlitzer tracks were recorded on an two day session at Midas Studios in Raippaluoto, Finland. The bass- and guitar tracks along with some vocal- and wurlitzer tracks were recorded at ELive Music Studios in Kälviä, Finland.

1. What Lies Ahead 7:56
2. Live Life Now  6:11 (Mikael Svarvar – vocals)
3. Fredag 5:35
4. Kindness 6:59 (Mikael Svarvar – vocals)
5. A Symbiosis 6:47
6. My Mama’s Advice 2:50 (Mikael Svarvar – vocals)
7. The Traveller 6:54
8. A New Dawn 6:19

Tracks 1,3,5,7 & 8 instrumental tracks

Soul What? Feat. Joonatan Rautio
Eevalotta Matikainen – bass
Mikael Svarvar – vocals, wurlitzer, grand piano
Martin Söderbacka – guitar
Toni Porthén – drums
Joonatan Rautio – tenor saxophone

Mixed by Miikka Huttunen, Neomusic at Sonic Pump Studios
Mastered by Svante Forsbäck at Chartmakers
Produced by Eevalotta Matikainen, ELive Music
Cover artwork by Triin Aimla-Laid

All songs and lyrics written by Eevalotta Matikainen & Martin Söderbacka at ELive Music (except track 3 written by Mikael Svarvar)